Posts: 431610 Topics: 22590 LOGIN

Home >> Fakers, spammers and scammers >> petrawiebe@worker.com property scam

16.05.2010, 09:41 quote

god
Joined: 30 May 2006 Posts: 752
View user's profile

Scam messages on dating sites are quite common....also on car websites......but it is quite amazing I have just received my first scam message from a property website.

I have contacted someone that advertised an appartment on immobilienscout24.de ad received the following reply from petrawiebe@worker.com:

Quote:
Hello,

If we decide to proceed with this transaction, I will have to contact Rent.com and provide them all the necessary information,
so they can start the process right away. I will need your full name and address for that. You will receive a notification from Rent.com shortly after that,
together with all the instructions to follow and the invoice as well.
Regarding the payment, you will be instructed to deposit 2% from total price (46000 euro) to Rent.com account.
They will hold and insure your money until you check the apartment and decide if you want take it or not.
That is how their buyer protection policy works. As far as my concerns, I will be glad to know that Rent.com has the possession of the money during the delivery period. That is my insurance.
As soon as the funds have been deposited into their account, they will immediately start the shipping process.
The keys and sale contract will be delivered at your address in no more than 2 working days. You will be given a ten days inspection period from the day you receive the keys and contract at home.
If you decide to hold the apartment, then you will have to authorize Rent.com to release the funds to me, and the transaction will be completed.
If you will not be satisfied with the apartment, you will be able to send the keys and contract back through the same service and ask Rent.com to return the funds to you.
Through I am sure you will love the apartment, it is good to know that you do have this second option available. If you wish to proceed , please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through Rent.com right away.
I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Regards,


No matter what kind of scam, it is always the same mechanism:

- a made up story
- request for money
- using the name of well known company to make it appear more serious

UT

And I am 100% sure this is again from Nigeria or Ghana?

 

16.05.2010, 11:24 quote

gypsymoon
gypsymoon Joined: 17 Jan 2010 Posts: 2565 Location: United Kingdom, England, Norfolk
View user's profile Visit poster's website

They're never ending but some scammers tell you they want to GIVE YOU money with all sorts of clever reasons why, but of course they just want your financial details to exploit or get you involved in some kind of money laundering.
_________________
http://arisingmoon.deviantart.com/gallery/#-Fantasy-Art-
http://myriad28.spaces.live.com/

 
 
Jump to:

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum