Posts: 431610 Topics: 22590 LOGIN

Home >> Fakers, spammers and scammers >> now Im confused, lol

22.04.2011, 02:53 quote

nicki68

heres one for you. I was contacted by a member... andyj1980...seemed nice enough.From the way he worded his replies I know he was foreign, he did tell me where he was from but I deleted his post & cant remember. Now I noticed his only pic on his profile said something along the lines of 'toyboy.com' or something like that.....yes I know what ur going to say shere.....lol. anyway he gave me his email address & this is where it get confusing. Im not gonna give the full addy but it started bihunter******* so I thought oooooh thats a lil strange. Then yesterday he emailed me after several weeks of not hearing from him. I had to dbl & triple check the addy cos the name on the email said it was from a 'Jessica Hunter'????? Basically it asked for pics of me with no clothes on...yeah right, jog on.... So do I have a scammer or a gender confused pervert???? lol

 

22.04.2011, 08:27 quote

charmed32

the whole thing does sound a bit strange but if he has emailed you then you are able to check the ip address. If it comes back from the known areas associated with scammers just block and delete the email addy. If not then be direct and ask exactly what they want and request a cam chat. Or simply tell them that you are put off by anyone requesting naked pics. Either way check that ip addy to see where that email originated from Smile

 

22.04.2011, 13:25 quote

gardengnome506

You tell me!

gqstylz
"Re: "
Hi there how are you doing? How has you day been so far? Thought I would touch base and see if u were interested in chatting. Looking forward to hearing from you. Paolo

Had I not checked his guestbook, just being curious I wouldn't have known any better! A fellow put on there that his picture is of a footballer, Don't keep up with Football at all! And there are no serious grammatical errors to pick up on. The scammers are getting better at scamming, and that is all I get in my inbox, with exception to an occasional email from poster on the forums!

 

22.04.2011, 14:00 quote

joyleaf

I would ask him questions, and see how h responds if his answers read or sound fishy to you drop him.
like one of us said check where the addy is comming from and backtrack.
Oh and find out who little miss Thang is, I bet she is a girlfreind he's playing.,
And no he sounds like a pervert/scammer he wants both in my book.
And besides any guy who asks for pics over the net needs to have a labodamy. Hangs itself UT

 

22.04.2011, 14:42 quote

shere92

nicki68 wrote:
.....yes I know what ur going to say shere.....lol.


??!! Why, the thought never crossed my mind...!

He may not be a scammer, but possibly a person with a bit of a 'shady' background perhaps; using other people's pictures and email addresses etc.

 

22.04.2011, 23:13 quote

scriptwriter

As soon as you saw 'toyboy.com' you knew what arena you were dealing with. It was your choice to pursue it. I personally would have ended it there, but it all depends on what the individual is seeking. As a rule of thumb, just cut/paste a person's nickname/email address into various search engines right at the start, and see what other profiles appear. The alleged guy you mention is possibly on 2+ other sites for example, using the same nickname or derivatives thereof. I've avoided numerous liars and frauds this way - and 5-10 minutes spent early on can save sheer hell further down the line.

 
 
Jump to:

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum