Posts: 395317 Topics: 16167 LOGIN

Home >> Fakers, spammers and scammers >> Is this a fake?

21.04.2007, 18:37 quote

rg85
rg85 Joined: 16 Apr 2007 Posts: 3 Location: United Kingdom, England, Sussex
View user's profile Visit poster's website

Hi peeps. I’ve only been here two days and this is my first post in the forums. I’m also completely new to the whole Internet dating/meeting thing so please forgive my noobishness.

I’ve had two messages and neither of them appear in the inbox although it does say “Received: 2”, so I assume they are junk. For some reason the side bar says “Your Messages (0/1)”. Anyway, I set up e-mail notifications before I got the second message. The e-mail said:

Quote:
318488-Flirtbox.co.uk

from:girl4love

Re: Hello

Hello

My name is ~~ ~~,i am 22yrs,single,open
minded,caring,sincere,good looking and easy going lady, i will like to know you better and go
into a business relationship with you.I will explain better to you if
you can contact me directly through my email ads which is:
~~@yahoo.co.uk or you send me your email ads so that i
will be able to mail you directly and tell you my mind as well as my
picture for you to see what i looks like.
I will be waiting urgently to read back from you as soon as you receive
this my mail, till then bye and have anice day.and you can add me to
your yahoo messagener for us to chat am online now ok.

yours sincerely.


At the time of posting, his/her account is still active. Am I correct in assuming this is some kind of scam?

 

21.04.2007, 18:43 quote

Anonymous

yeah a total scam

 

22.04.2007, 10:28 quote

rg85
rg85 Joined: 16 Apr 2007 Posts: 3 Location: United Kingdom, England, Sussex
View user's profile Visit poster's website

Thanks for the reply.

I thought it probably was, but part of me wanted to believe it wasn't Sad

 

30.04.2007, 09:05 quote

Anonymous

If someone volunteers a yahoo address in their first mail they're most likely scam. Chin up, a real one should be along shortly.

 

07.05.2007, 18:38 quote

scubawallace

here's another - sent today, the account was also set up today -

Hi Dear,
I am miss julyn compliment of the season how are you, hope you are
fine and in perfect condition of health,I have consulted your profile and
you seem like an interesting person. am loveing caring am up to any
thing you may think or like or want in a lady come what may i dont
compromize my love to any thing i know what it take me befor falling in
love and if i do i dont like go essilyly I would like to know more
about you, so I am writing you hoping that you will answer. you don\'t mind
i will like you to write me on this address(julynkd@y/a/ho/o.com) In
you i know i beleive i can find the bliss for my heart to beat in peace
for i seek your true love.
Hope to hear from you soon, will be waiting for your mail because i
have something VERY important to tell or disclose to


The pathetic grammar is a bit of a give away...
I suggest you hit the report spam link, like wot I did.

Have to say its a bit of a pisser - you know - oh goody, I have a message! Somebody loooves me and then opening the message to find that

 

08.05.2007, 23:41 quote

Anonymous

Hi guys

I`m still taking scammers details, I haven`t posted in a while ( i needed to make sure crazy Karen was definitely gone!! give me a greedy Nigerian over a whinging psycho anyday:D )
Leave the details here with scammers email intact or PM me with the details.
They will get dealt with.

 

09.05.2007, 05:41 quote

toby

Strangely almost all scammes have the letter 4 in their username lol

 

09.05.2007, 07:11 quote

pirakkanaama2
pirakkanaama2 Joined: 30 Dec 2006 Posts: 1888 Location: United Kingdom, England, Leicestershire
View user's profile Visit poster's website

dont pin codes for banks have 4 digits or something?
_________________

 
 
Jump to:

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum