Posts: 431603 Topics: 22588 LOGIN

Home >> Computers Hardware&Software >> WARNING: flirtbox.co.uk homepage causing attack on your PC

20.04.2011, 19:05 quote

shystef

Yes my Kapersky is too having a dicky fit (started today)
but if i type in the address and come straight to the site no problems, so i think the problem lies between the google page and flirtbox page somewhere.

 

20.04.2011, 19:39 quote

scriptwriter

This matter is of serious concern. What is being done about it?

 

20.04.2011, 19:51 quote

joyleaf

yes
earlier I did not even get into flirtbox because of the problem I just wrote a note and now am wondering do you think the problem is fixt?
I hope so I went to my tools and defraged and cleaned out my computer and disc cleaned the whole 9yards so I hope that worked not to mention I also turn off my computere when not using it.

 

20.04.2011, 20:05 quote

darkknight1771
Joined: 29 Mar 2011 Posts: 14 Location: United Kingdom, England, London
View user's profile Visit poster's website

shystef wrote:
Yes my Kapersky is too having a dicky fit (started today)
but if i type in the address and come straight to the site no problems, so i think the problem lies between the google page and flirtbox page somewhere.


No, its nothing to do with google as i'm typing the flirtbox.co.uk address directly into the url bar.

 

20.04.2011, 20:07 quote

darkknight1771
Joined: 29 Mar 2011 Posts: 14 Location: United Kingdom, England, London
View user's profile Visit poster's website

joyleaf wrote:
yes
earlier I did not even get into flirtbox because of the problem I just wrote a note and now am wondering do you think the problem is fixt?
I hope so I went to my tools and defraged and cleaned out my computer and disc cleaned the whole 9yards so I hope that worked not to mention I also turn off my computere when not using it.


No its not fixed as still getting the warning!

As long as you have up-to-date security you're fine, but i know a lot of people dont!

 

20.04.2011, 20:09 quote

darkknight1771
Joined: 29 Mar 2011 Posts: 14 Location: United Kingdom, England, London
View user's profile Visit poster's website

scriptwriter wrote:
This matter is of serious concern. What is being done about it?


I notified flirtbox support as well as posting the info on here. Not heard back from them though.

 

20.04.2011, 20:16 quote

scriptwriter

I have done the same. Think it's time to cancel my account, for the risk is too high. The warning of an attempted attack also appears when you log out.

 

20.04.2011, 21:32 quote

gardengnome506

I ran Norton Anti-virus and it continually had to detect and delete threats, but I have been deleted off Flirtbox already, I have sent them both error messages that I have been getting, but I have not heard back from them either. I am worried that I will be deleted again!

 

20.04.2011, 21:39 quote

handsel
handsel Joined: 18 Mar 2009 Posts: 2254 Location: United Kingdom, England, West Midlands
View user's profile Visit poster's website

Does it matter what browser you use? Confused
_________________
Give me golf clubs, fresh air and a beautiful partner, and you can keep the clubs and the fresh air.
(Jack Benny)

 

20.04.2011, 23:08 quote

scriptwriter

Don't know. I'm using IE, but used to avidly use Firefox until someone was allegedly uploading virus-infected plug-ins to Mozilla's site. The reason I left here 6 months ago was due to contact with a scammer via this site, resulting in having to then close my bank accounts, cancel cards and everything else. Not good. You have to do a risk-benefit analysis now, bearing in mind the number of fake profiles on here, scammers en masse, difficulty in getting responses to complaints, and now this issue. If someone's got into the site, every pic you view, and other things - even the buttons on the pages - could be carrying a payload. And here's a little bit of info regarding 91.194.182.31, 80 (the alleged source) - just to make your heart sink further:

IP Information for 91.194.182.31
IP Location: Russian Federation Juvencom Inc
ASN: AS43296
IP Address: 91.194.182.31
Reverse IP: 3 websites use this address. (examples: joef91.com payrollserversinstall.com upackagetrack.com)

inetnum: 91.194.182.0 - 91.194.183.255
netname: JUVENCOM-NET
descr: Juvencom Inc.
country: RU
org: ORG-UI6-RIPE
admin-c: NZ314-RIPE
tech-c: YIS5-RIPE
status: ASSIGNED PI
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-PI-MNT
mnt-by: MNT-UVENCOM
mnt-lower: RIPE-NCC-HM-PI-MNT
mnt-routes: MNT-UVENCOM
mnt-domains: MNT-UVENCOM
source: RIPE # Filtered

organisation: ORG-UI6-RIPE
org-name: Uvencom Inc.
org-type: OTHER
address: 105082, Russia, Moscow, Fridrikh Engels st., house 75, building 3
e-mail:
mnt-ref: MNT-UVENCOM
mnt-by: MNT-UVENCOM
source: RIPE # Filtered

person: Nikolay Zapolnov
address: MO, Vokzalnaya, 8
phone: +7 926 111 111 11
nic-hdl: NZ314-RIPE
source: RIPE # Filtered

person: Yarkov Ivan Sergeevich
address: 105082, Russia, Moscow, Fridrikh Engels st., house 75, building 3
phone: +7 495 1010274
nic-hdl: YIS5-RIPE
source: RIPE # Filtered

route: 91.194.182.0/23
descr: Juvencom
origin: AS43296
mnt-by: MNT-UVENCOM
source: RIPE # Filtered

 

21.04.2011, 00:10 quote

darkknight1771
Joined: 29 Mar 2011 Posts: 14 Location: United Kingdom, England, London
View user's profile Visit poster's website

handsel wrote:
Does it matter what browser you use? Confused


No, i dont think it does as its not a particular browser flaw that this particular attack is exploiting.

 

21.04.2011, 00:57 quote

gardengnome506

I initially began Flirtbox using internet explorer, but the version I used was very slow and problems began to arise and ultimately I lost my first attempt at Flirtobx, then I switched to Firefox and have had a very successful run until two days ago when I was deleted again! But I just pulled up some research on Firefox and they ultimately have problems with viruses attatching themselves to the search engine and reeking havoc. So, I just down loaded IE 8 to see how it runs for a little while. I have been getting error messages again through firefox so I do not want to be deleted again! We'll see!

 

21.04.2011, 01:00 quote

gardengnome506

gardengnome506 wrote:
I initially began Flirtbox using internet explorer, but the version I used was very slow and problems began to arise and ultimately I lost my first attempt at Flirtobx, then I switched to Firefox and have had a very successful run until two days ago when I was deleted again! But I just pulled up some research on Firefox and they ultimately have problems with viruses attatching themselves to the search engine and reeking havoc. So, I just down loaded IE 8 to see how it runs for a little while. I have been getting error messages again through firefox so I do not want to be deleted again! We'll see!

Well no sooner did I post then I got the message that Flirtbox is corrupting IE with viruses. What to do?

 

21.04.2011, 01:35 quote

joyleaf

Is Firefox somewhat like AVG? because I have AVG for antivirus protecion for my cpomputer and it works just fine.
However before all of this started to happen I wound up having to change my password and had no idea I had to do that and that took a few tries and a 2 days and finially it worked.
So now I am now back and am worried about the virus thing. It scary for me because I have never had to deal with getting a virus out of a computer and don't know how to do it myself and would lovve to learn.
So I don'tee have to rely on other people to do it for me.

 

21.04.2011, 08:01 quote

shystef

Firefox is another version of internet explorer if I am correct in my thinkning and not an internet security thing.

As I said my Kaspersky only had issues when I tried to come to flirtbox via google.
Now I just type the address bar in and am having no warnings, but yes the warnings were severe, and warned of a trojan, so i blocked it and came in directly.

 
 
Jump to:

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum